2. Part One - Contemporary Art · 2.b. Project 2: Time and time-based media

Exercise 1 – The Fourth Dimension

In my late teens/early 20’s I had a bit of a complex about time, the passing of time, growing old. I always felt my life should have been more than what I had for my age (especially looking at the achievements and the lives of friends) and I always felt time moved too fast to keep up with. Like being on a mechanical hamster wheel that was set at a speed just slightly higher than I could keep up with. Then, as I started to figure out my passions and a direction in life and stopped to look around, I noticed that time had slowed down. I felt I was achieving more in a day than I ever thought possible and I realised that time is all about perception. We can almost bend time to our will if we just focus. I we are productive we can stretch time. Although there are still days where I sit in front of the T.V. or with a book and in the blink of an eye3 hours has past. I think about time a lot, not at an academic level but on a personal level. I am obsessed with taking photos or getting tattoos to capture moments in life so they never end.

I don’t think I’ve ever consciously thought about time in relation to art before. I guess I must have on some level, as I mentioned with my tattoos and photographs, but never in relation to painting or thought about the representation of time when I’ve been at a gallery, but thinking about art that I enjoy, I guess a lot of it could be relatable to time. I have always been interested in Japanese culture and art, especially the more traditional things like kimono or historical art pieces as well as traditional style tattooing which deal with a lot of images of gypsy women and 1920’s style characters so I guess this represents a time past. But time is a very mind boggling thing for me and I don’t have an educational level of knowledge or understanding of what time is or how it could be represented.

To my knowledge, I don’t think I have come across a piece of art that explore exactly what time is. Again, I have seen historical images or artifacts which tell the story of a time but I feel this isn’t an exploration of time exactly.

Leave a Reply

